In the 1999 Tropical Storm Floyd caused extensive damage to the library. Two-thirds of all books, as well as many other materials were lost. The building was flooded and books, furniture, shelves and computers were destroyed. After the storm, the library was renovated. We welcome you to use the Park Ridge Public Library services and, through them, experience the wonders of the past, become more fully aware of the present, and, perhaps, even glimpse the future.
What we know today as a multifaceted Public Library serving Park Ridge and the vicinity with extensive information capabilities started out very differently in 1908. That was the year a few people donated a few books and opened an office. Until the mid-twenties the library was run by an association of dedicated volunteers. For a time we were a tri-borough enterprise known as the Pascack Library. When the residents of Park Ridge voted to change to a municipal library, a "Free Public Library" as we are still officially known, they expressed their willingness to support a library with their tax dollars. The library occupied many spaces around town before moving to the present building in 1961. Remodeling and expansion took place in 1986. The short time it hastaken to fill the extra space testifies to the increasing variety and importance of the library’s services.